ZODIAC 'Cosmic Sounds' LP


This album was released on the ELEKTRA label in August 1967 in the U.K. It was heavily played by John Peel on his Perfumed Garden shows, where he used it as a basis for a competition (He had been sent a copy by Clive Selwood, the then head of Elektra’s London office and later to become Peel’s manager).The LP was extremely popular with Perfumed Garden listeners and was mentioned in the lyrics of Geoffrey Prowse’s fan tribute to the program, “The Perfumed Garden Blues, or John Peel’s lament”.

The 12-track concept album featured both music and spoken narration on the theme of signs of the zodiac. Based on an initial idea by Elektra chief Jac Holzman, it was a collaborative effort with music written by Mort Garson, words by Jacques Wilson, and narration by Cyrus Faryar. The early use of the Moog synthesizer was by Paul Beaver. There was no artist called either The Zodiac or Cosmic Sounds, a fact which confused some buyers of the LP. The back sleeve informed listeners that the record "MUST BE PLAYED IN THE DARK".

1. Aries - the Fire-Fighter
2. Taurus - the Voluptuary
3. Gemini - the Cool Eye
4. Cancer - the Moon Child
5. Leo - the Lord of Lights
6. Virgo - the Perpetual Perfectionist
7. Libra - the Flower Child
8. Scorpio - the Passionate Hero
9. Sagittarius - the Versatile Daredevil
10. Capricorn - the Uncapricious Climber
11. Aquarius - the Lover of Life
12. Pisces - the Peace Piper

Related products