SPRINGTIME (Dirty Three, Drones) 'Springtime' LP

$30.00 $45.00

After making their live debut with a handful of sold-out shows in Melbourne earlier this year, Springtime—the new Australian group comprising Gareth Liddiard (The Drones, Tropical Fuck Storm), Jim White (Xylouris White, Dirty Three, Cat Power) and Chris Abrahams (The Necks) - announce their self-titled debut Springtime will be released later this Spring, mid-November, 2021 via TFS Records.

Springtime is the culmination of three renowned, multidisciplinary musicians each known for distinct styles and sounds—a new endeavour that is as much a tonal experiment as it is a meditation on modern-day absurdity. Their self-titled debut combines elements of art rock, experimental noise, poignant lyricism, free jazz and improvisation to craft austere portraits of a world paralysed by shellshock.

Several of Springtime’s songs were made in collaboration between the band and Liddiard’s uncle, Ian Duhig, a world-renowned poet who has twice won The National Poetry Competition (in 1987 and 2000), the UK’s most prestigious poetry award. Duhig’s poems laid the groundwork for the songs “Viaduct Love Suicide” and “Jeanie In A Bottle” (the latter featuring vocals from The Drones & Tropical Fuck Storm’s Fiona Kitschin), which were later crafted into sprawling songs led by Liddiard’s wild-eyed vocals and guitar work as White and Abrahams lay down stuttering strings, fizzling electronics, and feathery piano melodies. Later, on the album’s penultimate track, we hear a cover of Will Oldham’s “West Palm Beach” that was recorded live, treated with love and respect, and would certainly be met with open arms by the author.

1. Will To Power
2. The Viaduct Love Suicide
3. Jeanie In A Bottle
4. She Moved Through The Fair
5. The Island
6. West Palm Beach
7. The Killing Of The Village Idiot

Related products