FLOODLIGHTS 'Painting Of My Time' LP


Floodlights 'Painting Of My Time' LP - on Blue Splatter colour vinyl!

In the spring of 2021, Floodlights brought to life their second full-length release, Painting of My Time. A project recorded live on a 24 track tape machine over three days by Nao Anzai at Soundpark Studios in Melbourne. The resulting ten tracks
were sent to London to be mixed by the acclaimed sound engineer, Andrew Savours (Black Country New Road, Arctic Monkeys, My Bloody Valentine).

Painting of My Time encapsulates the sonic and personal progression of the group. An album consistent in its signature, evocative lyricism. A refinement and push responding to a raft of new experiences in an ever changing world. It’s a journey of observations, reshaping views and identity, elaborating on themes of personal turbulence, self exploration, and the Australian landscape as a form of escapism. Taking their form from scrawled poetic prose, Floodlights’ lyrics are honest.

Words resonating out from humble beginnings, and speaking to the memories of those that relate. Lyricists, Ashlee Kehoe and Louis Parsons, write expressively and with purpose. Words mature into melodies, and grow into songs that encapsulate a feeling. Stories that can’t be spoken without the allure the sum of each of its parts offer. “One of the greatest joys of writing is harnessing the transition from a lyrical idea, to a fully formed composition that reflects the feelings you had when you wrote the lyrics”, says Kehoe.

Painting of My Time marks a natural departure and arrival. An evolution as a group, and as individuals, fuelled by life’s singular and shared experience. A response to questions asked over time, written down, and yelled with the conviction of honesty.

1. Moment of Distraction
2. Lessons Learnt
3. Human
4. On the Television
5. Something Blue
6. Painting of My Time
7. Things You Do
8. Colours
9. Ramblings of a Passenger
10. Wide Open Land

Related products