BOOKER T & MGs 'Green Onions' LP


180gr. Audiophile Vinyl re-issue.

Sixty years ago, Booker T. & The MG’s transformed an impromptu studio jam into one of the most-popular instrumentals ever recorded, Green Onions. An instant hit when it came out in the summer of 1962, the single topped the R&B chart and peaked at #3 on the pop chart before selling a million copies. That fall, the song became the title track to the band’s debut album, which, coincidentally, was also the first album released on Stax Records, the legendary Memphis-based record company that shaped the sound of Southern Soul in the Sixties.

This essential soul album has now been completely remastered for this edition and the album packaging features all new liner notes by American author David Ritz, who interviewed two of the group’s founding members – Booker T. Jones and Steve Cropper – for this release.

1. Green Onions
2. Rinky-Dink
3. I Got a Woman
4. Mo' Onions
5. Twist and Shout
6. Behave Yourself
7. Stranger On the Shore
8. Lonely Avenue
9. One Who Really Loves You
10. I Can't Sit Down
11. A Woman, a Lover, a Friend
12. Comin' Home Baby

Related products